Is there a decline in tech cooperative movement activity?

Hi everyone! I’m an experienced developer who is questioning traditional extractive corporations and start-ups.

In my search for alternatives, I’ve discovered the topic of tech cooperatives and platform cooperativism. I’m currently actively researching info about the field and have an impression that the peak of activity was in 2018-2020. Can someone more experienced in the field tell the story of those times and why it calmed down later?

I guess COVID has hit, which was hard for those vulnerable grassroots organizations and movements. But also just knocked out cooperatives from the media scope.

Is there anything that I’m missing? A directed campaign against it? Another theory: in those times, someone with more media and capital resources was involved, and now they’ve moved on. I’m very interested in what has happened and what is happening now. And ultimately, what is the best way to get involved?

5 Likes

Heyyy!

I’d love to hear about how activity is being measured or evaluated here. Are you looking at number of tech coops? Perhaps size/revenue of coops? Or traffic on forums? I’d love to look at some data.

I know there’s a more academic circle around platform coops that might be in a more quiet phase, as is a pattern in academia.

A few coops have had to dissolve and maybe were a bit more quiet here. A number of people are putting energy into this community and the relatively new workers.coop

Without divulging full financial info both the coops I’m part of (fractals co-op, Cetis llp) are sustainable, and growing at the right pace for us. Both operate in a sort of consultant model, so we respond to market/client needs, which translates to some quiet periods, some busy periods.