Coop version of LinkedIn

Hello, I am interested in starting a coop professional networking platform - a coop version of LinkedIn.

The basic idea is that the people on the platform would be co-owners of the platform; while fostering a collaborative community. They would also decide how to use the money generated from advertising within the platform.

I have some tech background primarily ruby, rails, react and javascript. Prior to coding, I was in HR/recruiting.

Would anyone else from CoTech be interested in taking part?

5 Likes

I think happy Dev are working on something similar, with their freelancer’s network based on startin blox

2 Likes

I’m very interested in this, and can think of others who might be in some way. What exactly are Happydev working on? Minimum, to me, is that they are open to co-developing their ideas for the common good. How much are they? I wasn’t at all convinced by the startin blox model of skills, to begin with. It just didn’t do what to my mind is needed. But maybe that has changed? In any case, a good idea to check out what anyone else is trying to do in this space. It’s a good test of collaboration potential – not everyone is really up for serious collaboration and we need to choose people who are genuine in this way.

Any individuals who could be contacted about HappyDev?

Thanks, I will check them out.

Thanks for your interest. Maybe we can share some ideas in the near future.

Hey, my two cents:

I’d question if anything LinkedIn like (“the CV that never sleeps”) is even desirable for a cooperative world. That’s a platform primarily based on surveillance of users. I see you’ve mentioned advertising and that has my alarm bells ringing. There would need to be a clear statement on how you would aim to resolve the contradictions in basing your work from LinkedIn.

Btw, we do also have https://www.democraticjobs.coop on the go already too.

6 Likes