Scheming on a remote event in Canada featuring FACT[TIC]

hiya @Neto @nicolasdimarco!

I was going to reach out directly, but then figured: “Why not have the convo on the forum, as any positive spin-out is entirely due to this network” :wink:

Here’s the related context – :mag: facts, :heart: feelings, and :bulb: ideas: (taking cue from ORID process, h/t @audreyt)

• :mag: I’m very early in starting a tech worker co-op with some friends, Hypha Worker Co-operative
  • :mag: We all met around the Toronto #civictech community, doing projects and organizing together.
  • :mag: We’re interested in building an inclusive and diverse co-operative ecology in Toronto.
  • :mag: I’m also a co-organizer with Civic Tech Toronto.
    • :mag: I’m currently in the role of speaker booking.
    • :mag: We run weekly “civic hacknights” for 50-70 designers, technologists, public servants, nonprofit workers, and engaged citizens. Anyone can pitch a project and seek support. We’re a multi-sectoral platform for grassroots community projects.
    • :mag: We host short guest speakers each week, from government and civil society. This helps lure people in for the project work.
    • :mag: We move around each month, hopping between academic, private, and government venue sponsors (cross-pollinating communities in the process).
  • :mag: FACT[TIC] gave a show & tell. about. notes.
    • :mag: Two of your major longterm clients are Canadian tech companies from Toronto, which work in industries aligned or adjacent to government.
  • :mag: Civic Tech Toronto usually books venues pretty much via cold-calls.
  • :heart: I feel very excited about sharing more co-operative ideals within the Toronto #civictech community, and helping community members establish more formal working relationships.