R&D (Research and Development) in tech-coops

Hi! I’m Hernán from Fiqus Coop, an Argentinean tech cooperative. We are currently working on establishing an R&D department within our organization and are reaching out to other tech coops for advice. Our goal is to create a free and creative space where we can develop solutions and create POCs and MVPs that could generate work for our coop and other coops in the future. Have you had any experience with this in your own coops? If so, we would love to hear about your approach and any thoughts you may have.

Best regards!

4 Likes

Hi Hernán! Our co-op (Go Free Range) has spent some of our time over the years on R&D-type work, for example making our own products, trying to start a credit union and developing open source tools. We’ve typically taken chunks of time away from client work to concentrate on this kind of work. I also worked as a researcher for several years at BBC R&D which is a more traditional R&D department within a larger organisation - I was able to do R&D full time there.

How are you thinking of structuring your department? Will you be hiring dedicated people for it, or using existing members?

5 Likes