Mike - Federation of Humanitarian Technologists

Hi all! My name is Mike Nolan, I’m a former software engineer/aid worker (previously UNICEF) and co-founder of the Federation of Humanitarian Technologists. Over the past few months, I’ve been putting together an organization creating open-source software solutions for humanitarian aid organizations. Now that some of the grant applications are coming together, I’ve been discussing with my business partner the possibility of a worker co-op. Now, I will admit, I’m no expert in worker co-ops but I’ve done some reading and I’m very much interested in pursuing this.

I hope I can also use this post to ask a few questions as well but feel free to advise if that’s not customary :slight_smile:

1. Are there specific regulations for how co-ops must function? What is voted on by membership?
  2. Our co-op will have employees and also be serving aid organizations. The organizations are our “customer”. Should the employees be our members or the aid organizations?
  3. Our founding team is just two people but we plan to scale up fairly quickly. Is there a general weight to votes? What happens if an employee leaves?

Anyways, it’s great to meet everyone and I hope everyone is staying healthy during these times!

6 Likes

https://github.com/glowkeeper/ReportAid - would that be of interest to you?

Hi and welcome. A few quick responses:

Regulations: I guess that might depend on where the co-op is domiciled. Different countries have different rules. If you are in the UK things are pretty flexible in terms of the legal structure that you might adopt, and the rules and regs tend to fall out of that in large part.