Hi from Steve Gill at VME (soon to be VME Co-op)

Hi everyone and thank you to everyone I met at WB Yeats on Friday and Co-op Congress on Saturday. I knew as soon as @harry said “Meet at the pub” this was a group of people I was going to get on with :beers: :yum:

I’ll try and be brief with the introduction, but this won’t be easy :joy:

I studied Computer Science for one year in Edinburgh before getting bored, and pissed off with the cheating, plus I ran out of cash :blush: My first ‘real’ job was working at Scotmid Co-op in their IT department. I soon learnt that most private companies supplying Scotmid with IT were ripping us off; before the sale they were our best friend, once the sale was done and they had their money they disappeared - no interest in a long term relationship or fixing problems (of which there were many!).

Scotmid installed VME software in their stores in 1999 (tills, back office and head office - very like corepos) because the owner of VME was different - he believed in long term relationships and working with the customer to delivery what we needed - a breath of fresh air.

I jumped ship from Scotmid to VME in 1999 to further my career (with the blessing of the Scotmid CEO, who I’m still friends with to this day) and 5 years later, led a management buy out of VME from the family that owned it. We now have offices in the UK, Malta and Ireland - 28 employees, and growing. Almost 20 of us are developers, either in .Net, PHP or Javascript (VueJS).

We have our software running in 9 of the 13 independent co-ops supplied by FRTS, with over 600 stores and 2,000 lanes. We are in discussions with the rest to join us so all UK co-ops are running the same platform, allowing us (us = co-op people, not neccesarily vme) to develop new tools and apps to grow the grocery co-op marketshare. We have calculated the movement will save millions per year by doing this.