Hi from Cambridge

I’m Daniel from Cambridge. In the past 3-4 years I was dividing my time between Tadaptive - through which I work as a freelance UX designer, digital product designer & consultant, and as (currently) solo founder of AsWeThink - an early-stage platform for visual & digital innovation & knowledge management, and (maybe, hopefully) a wannabe co-op.

Years ago, it became obvious that the traditional path of (VC funded) growth & profit-oriented startups it’s not something I’m keen on to follow, or a path I would consider worthwhile to pursue.

While reading about social enterprises in general, and co-ops in specific, I ended up with the understanding that these forms might be closest to what I envisioned as a “fitting” legal form for AsWeThink (which is currently a “plain Ltd”), but I still perceive these forms as overly bureaucratic and hard to get started with. This impression was unfortunately strengthened by the different representatives of social incubators whom I’ve met a while ago, while I was trying to find out what it takes to “officially” become a “social enterprise”.

I’m here to learn more about what it would take to transition to a Ltd-based co-op, and to upgrade my somewhat ambivalent perception regarding co-ops (that it’s more simple than I believe now).

PS: I came across CoTech around a year ago, but it was back in October 2020, when I raised the question on Twitter: Why they are so few #tech #coops in the UK?, tagging @CoTech and other relevant twitter handles. I don’t think my question was answered, and I do think it’s still highly relevant. I didn’t know about this community forum until today, I ended up registering after reading #wiki Who can join CoTech. When it comes about tech co-ops in Cambridge area, I’m aware of Aptivate, know where their office is, but I don’t know anyone from there.