Hello from Oxford

My name is Sjoerd and I moved from The Netherlands to Oxford about 5 years ago, where I have been working as a technical consultant for a limited company. While I still enjoy the work I do, the more I learn about corporate structures and alternative ways to organise work, the more I start to feel like I would be more at home at a co-op if possible. I found out about CoTech, so I decided to make an account on these forums to try and test the waters a little and see where else I could put my skills to use.

My background is in physics and mathematics and in my job I do a lot of programming in Wolfram Language (WL, also known as Mathematica), which from a practical perspective is a bit like a Lisp. I realise that this is not a very highly sought-after skill per say, but then again: there aren’t many people in the wild with a good background in WL so it could just as well be a unique selling point, I suppose. At any rate, I don’t consider myself to be a pure programmer but more of a maths/science/programmer hybrid with a bit of data-scientist thrown in. I have a broad interest and really enjoy working on technical problems that exist on the interface of these disciplines. I also have a bit of an educational streak and enjoy making abstract knowledge accessible to others.

You can check out some of my own work on Github and I also wrote a few blog posts you can check out if you wish.

Looking forward to meeting some new faces here!

4 Likes

Hello from Yugawara, Japan!

I do completely share your feelings!

I visited Oxford some years ago for a functional programming language conference (ICFP) some years ago. I am also interested in Mathematics although I am no expert :sweat_smile: For example, I heard from many people how dual numbers could be used for automatic differentiation and basically that entails redefining operations in basic arithmetic, etc - but I don’t known anything more than this :sweat_smile: