Any Southeast Asian coops out there?

Hi! I’ve been reading more about worker own tech and platform coops (just finished “Ours to Hack and Own” and “Everything for Everyone”) and am looking more into the idea of starting or joining one.

I’m a Thai-American producer whose mainly worked on VR, AR, livestream and creative tech projects but also have product own experience for SaaS products. I’m looking for like-mineded people in Thailand (currently in Chiang Mai, but usually based in Bangkok) or beyond who may be interested in speaking more or sharing their experience either working with or setting one up.

I’ve worked with too many companies that pay ‘expats’ more than Thai staff members doing the exact same work, and am interested in using any passport privilege I have to counteract colonial practices like this.

Been stalking the forums and grateful for the amazing advice out there.

6 Likes

I used to work for an investment bank and oh yes, I know what you are talking about :smile:

It was called something like “location strategy” and it seemed really confused - a typical scenario being that some man power hungry inefficient job gets outscored to “centers of excellence”, and the choice of its location seemed to depend on the prevailing forex rates, government subsidies of host countries, language, infrastructure, etc.

But it was often really controverted and farcical because the relocation itself was costly, not to mention the cost of firing employees in expensive countries (aka Japan :sweat_smile:) and of course, the expat pay for the hardship of living in a strange foreign country (<- this is in a declining trend though, I think)…

Popular destinations were countries like India (offshoring) and Singapore (“near-shoring”)

And I have seen many similar strategies taken up by small IT companies to destinations like the Philippines.

What you are proposing makes a lot of sense!!

2 Likes