Advice for starting a career in the coop world

Hello,

My name is Henry and I’m hoping to get some advice on starting a programming/developer career in the tech coop world, and ideally a place to work.

I’m initially from outside the tech world, and coming into it I’ve found it difficult to find work that suits me. I can pick up technical skills and handle complex problems, but I’ve found so many tech companies to be engaged in unethical work, even in open source, which has put me off. There is far more room for ethics in tech coops, so I’m hoping to find work at one.

Quick summary of me as a dev

• Known languages: C, Python, JavaScript, Rust (roughly).

• Already worked on: libraries, desktop and web apps, some network work, GNU/Linux
    systems.

• Broadly good at: considering details, like documentation and clear code,
    problem solving and spotting/anticipating bugs.

• Looking for: full time work, or an internship to start with.

Why I’m here

Previously, I completed a PhD in theoretical physics, and whilst I was doing this I became interested in free software. Once I finished I switched over to programming.

I initially got an internship at Igalia working on the GStreamer Editing Services library (basically a library for video editing applications). This was renewed and then I completed more work as a freelancer until they ran out of money (about 10 months overall).

I think I did quite well during this internship. Once I got used to the code base I was able to add complex features and consider their integration and potential room for errors. I also spotted quite a few unknown/unrecorded bugs in the existing code from reading it, and I refactored some of it.

I was offered work but it would have been on an EME (Encrypted Media Extensions) plugin. I turned it down since I didn’t want my first gig to be on a controversial DRM feature.