Open source delivery platforms

Has anyone come across Crunchbutton on Github? To my untrained eye, I’m no developer, it looks like it could be a promising basis for a platform cooperative. Perhaps something more generalised than purely food.

2 Likes

It does indeed. The delivery market is so competitive and exploitative that it would be pretty hard to build a successful, non-exploitative co-operative. It’s hard enough turning CoTech into a platform co-operative and digital agencies are about the most profitable thing that’s still legal!

2 Likes

There’s a group of riders that would be interested in funding development/hosting of this platform for more general delivery, operated on a (worker) cooperative basis. It’s appears* mostly a case of rebranding and customisation, then hosting. I know it’s a length of string sort of question, but could anyone give a ballpark price on this work?

*to the untrained eye

1 Like

I wonder if this lot CoopCycle have seen this? I note they’ll be at https://2018.open.coop

@olisb hook them up?

1 Like

Hadn’t seen coopcycle, I’ll pass the info along. Thanks @jdaviescoates !

1 Like

See also this article Resisting the gig economy: the emergence of cooperative food delivery platforms - New thinking for the British economy :slight_smile:

2 Likes

The article indicates that they are developing their own app. Can’t see anything about how old the piece is, but might be worthwhile getting in touch, for anyone with an interest here.

Have just been reading that the coopcycle app has been in use for a few months by molenbike.be, would be interesting to know how it’s going against the competition.

1 Like

Viewing the source seems to suggest was published 30 May 2018 and updated 2 June 2018, so very recent. But, yeah, I hate it when published date isn’t obvious too :stuck_out_tongue:

Hello, I’m a member of CoopCycle, Ask Me Anything :grinning: