Co-Tech Summer Camp. Wittersham, Kent. 21/22/23/24 July 2017

Dear Co-Tecchers

We now have a firm venue and date for the CO-TECH summer camp. WHICH IS DEFINITELY HAPPENING!!!

The camp will take place 21st, 22nd, 23rd and 24th July at Wittersham on the Isle of Oxney in Kent (post code TN30 7EL) . 6 people have confirmed their ability to attend the camp and together with us organisers we are currently looking at 10 to 12 attendees.

Now that doesn’t mean that people who originally didn’t think they could make it can’t change their mind and now come. Please - if you like the sound of what we’re planning, please let us know and come along!

A brief outline of what’s taking shape:-

Camping in the beautiful Kent countryside with a stunning view across the valley towards Paul McCartney’s Sussex pad, next to a protected wood which will provides numerous clearings and glades for meetings, discussions and other ‘seances’.

The event will start on the Friday (21/7), with working sessions and activities on the Saturday (22/7) and Sunday (23/7). Attendees will have the option to either depart on Sunday or stay a third night under canvass and leave on the Monday (24/7).

The event will be part catered with a ‘BBQ’ on the first night (Friday 21st July) and a big curry on the Saturday night. Other meals (breakfast and lunch) will be self catered although some staples (milk, bread, salad) will be provided and I expect some eggs, sausages and bacon will be cooked up for breakfast for them’s that want them. There will be some food provided on the Sunday for those that want to hang on for the last night.

It’s expected that attendees will bring their own tent and camping equipment. For people who are keen to come but don’t have a tent, there may be an opportunity of a loan. Please get in touch and I’m sure that we can sort something out.

For anybody who would like to attend but really doesn’t want to rough it, there are numerous BnBs and Air BnBs within the vicinity. But we will need to move fast on these as they will book up as the summer approaches.

Toilet facilities will be provided.

Transport - given the current envisaged level of attendance, there will be ample car parking available. There is also secure bike storage. Train links are easy and frequent with the high speed service from London St Pancras to Ashford Kent, and then a connection to the local station which is Appledore. A shuttle car pick up service will operate between the camp, Ashford and Appledore and with a bit of careful and patient planning transport to and from the site will be very easy.

Tech - we will rig up a power ‘charging station’ for devices. 3g and 4g coverage is available but ain’t perfect and we are looking in to somehow getting wireless broadband to the site or nearby.

The event is being organised by myself Andy Croft, Eduardo Silva and Marc De’ath - with some further help from some assorted Gildedsplinters.

Now for the important bit. The content and aims of the event. This is very much to be decided - not because the organisers are a bunch of lazy gits but because we believe the group, Co-Tech, as a whole should determine what the event should achieve and set the agenda and objectives for the programme. We will be asking the group through Loomio, etc for input as to what the event should be expected to achieve. And so even if you can’t or don’t want to come, please get involved and help us make this gathering as constructive and productive as possible.

We envisage workshops and discussion groups taking place - and there will be a barn and larger shelters available if the weather is awful, so as to ensure that work (and play) can go ahead uninterrupted by bad weather.

The idea is that this is a LOW COST alternative for those who can’t attend the Wortley Hall event. The aim is that this camp is complementary to Wortley Hall and part of the same process of making Co-Tech as effective as possible.

We cannot put a firm cost on the event at the moment because we need a better handle on final number of attendees. But we do know that cost of the site is GRATIS, the cost of the chemi kazi will be £80 and the rest is food (and booze). We envisage (have set ourselves the target) that the whole event will cost no more than £75 per person (before booze).

I hope that the above gives you a feel for what’s going to happen and that it whets your appetite. We will be in touch with more details and to ask for input to the event’s agenda , content and aims.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please reply to this post or contact me Andy Croft andrew@gildedsplinters.coop 07793 650013.

I hope to hear from you all very soon.

Mail Delivery System MAILER-DAEMON@us2.outbound.mailhostbox.com
12:37 AM (0 minutes ago)

to andrew
This is the mail system at host us2.outbound.mailhostbox.com.

I’m sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It’s attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

               The mail system

Sion@calverts.com: host ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.com[64.233.185.27] said: 550-5.1.1 The
email account that you tried to reach does not exist. Please try 550-5.1.1
double-checking the recipient’s email address for typos or 550-5.1.1
unnecessary spaces. Learn more at 550 5.1.1
https://support.google.com/mail/?p=NoSuchUser c16si5958486ywb.155 - gsmtp
(in reply to RCPT TO command)

Final-Recipient: rfc822; Sion@calverts.com
Original-Recipient: rfc822;Sion@calverts.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1
Remote-MTA: dns; ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.com
Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550-5.1.1 The email account that you tried to reach does
not exist. Please try 550-5.1.1 double-checking the recipient’s email
address for typos or 550-5.1.1 unnecessary spaces. Learn more at 550 5.1.1
https://support.google.com/mail/?p=NoSuchUser c16si5958486ywb.155 - gsmtp

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Andrew Croft andrew@gildedsplinters.coop
To: tanc@agile.coop, aaron Hirtenstein aaron@agile.coop, Richard Rowley richard@agile.coop, “Constance Laisné” constance.laisne@gmail.com, Ieva P ieva@blake.house, Simon Ball sb@blake.house, Kate Beecroft Kate.Beecroft@enspiral.com, Jack jack@fairmondo.uk, Andrew Croft andrew@gildedsplinters.coop, Roy Brooks roy@gildedsplinters.coop, Glowbox Design Jason jason@glowboxdesign.co.uk, Chris Roos chris.roos@gofreerange.com, James Mead james.mead@gofreerange.com, Louise Scott louise@mediaco-op.net, Patrick Andrews patrickandr@gmail.com, Eduardo Silva eduardo@open-ecommerce.org, Manuela Rotstein manuela@open-ecommerce.org, Harry Robbins harry@outlandish.com, Sam Gluck sam@outlandish.com, Matt Kendon matt@outlandish.com, Alex Worrad-Andrews alex@outlandish.com, Matt Crow mateus@outlandish.com, Ellie Harries ellie@outlandish.com, “Joaquim d’Souza” joaquim@outlandish.com, Amil Vasishtha amil@outlandish.com, Brian Spurling brian@outlandish.com, Kayleigh Walsh kayleigh@outlandish.com, Matthew Parsons mp@outlandish.com, Tom Marshall tom@outlandish.com, Jannik Kollmann jannik@outlandish.com, Giselle Cory giselle@getbalu.org, Sion@calverts.com, Rebecca rebecca@seedsforchange.org.uk, rhiannon@seedsforchange.org.uk, Pete Burden pwb@seestep.com, Oli Evans oli@tableflip.io, rich@tableflip.io, Alan Shaw alan@tableflip.io, bernard@tableflip.io, Dan Stanley dan@thesmallaxe.com, Felix Lozano felix@wave.coop, John Bevan john@weareopen.coop, Ed Russell ed.russell@web.coop, Chris Croome chris@webarchitects.co.uk
Cc:
Bcc:
Date: Thu, 1 Jun 2017 00:37:30 +0200
Subject: The Co-Tech Summer Camp. Wittersham, Kent. 21/22/23/24 July.
Dear Co-Tecchers

We now have a firm venue and date for the CO-TECH summer camp. WHICH IS DEFINITELY HAPPENING!!!

The camp will take place 21st, 22nd, 23rd and 24th July at Wittersham on the Isle of Oxney in Kent (post code TN30 7EL) . 6 people have confirmed their ability to attend the camp and together with us organisers we are currently looking at 10 to 12 attendees.

Now that doesn’t mean that people who originally didn’t think they could make it can’t change their mind and now come. Please - if you like the sound of what we’re planning, please let us know and come along!

A brief outline of what’s taking shape:-

Camping in the beautiful Kent countryside with a stunning view across the valley towards Paul McCartney’s Sussex pad, next to a protected wood which will provides numerous clearings and glades for meetings, discussions and other ‘seances’.

The event will start on the Friday (21/7), with working sessions and activities on the Saturday (22/7) and Sunday (23/7). Attendees will have the option to either depart on Sunday or stay a third night under canvass and leave on the Monday (24/7).

The event will be part catered with a ‘BBQ’ on the first night (Friday 21st July) and a big curry on the Saturday night. Other meals (breakfast and lunch) will be self catered although some staples (milk, bread, salad) will be provided and I expect some eggs, sausages and bacon will be cooked up for breakfast for them’s that want them. There will be some food provided on the Sunday for those that want to hang on for the last night.

It’s expected that attendees will bring their own tent and camping equipment. For people who are keen to come but don’t have a tent, there may be an opportunity of a loan. Please get in touch and I’m sure that we can sort something out.

For anybody who would like to attend but really doesn’t want to rough it, there are numerous BnBs and Air BnBs within the vicinity. But we will need to move fast on these as they will book up as the summer approaches.

Toilet facilities will be provided.

Transport - given the current envisaged level of attendance, there will be ample car parking available. There is also secure bike storage. Train links are easy and frequent with the high speed service from London St Pancras to Ashford Kent, and then a connection to the local station which is Appledore. A shuttle car pick up service will operate between the camp, Ashford and Appledore and with a bit of careful and patient planning transport to and from the site will be very easy.

Tech - we will rig up a power ‘charging station’ for devices. 3g and 4g coverage is available but ain’t perfect and we are looking in to somehow getting wireless broadband to the site or nearby.

The event is being organised by myself Andy Croft, Eduardo Silva and Marc De’ath - with some further help from some assorted Gildedsplinters.

Now for the important bit. The content and aims of the event. This is very much to be decided - not because the organisers are a bunch of lazy gits but because we believe the group, Co-Tech, as a whole should determine what the event should achieve and set the agenda and objectives for the programme. We will be asking the group through Loomio, etc for input as to what the event should be expected to achieve. And so even if you can’t or don’t want to come, please get involved and help us make this gathering as constructive and productive as possible.

We envisage workshops and discussion groups taking place - and there will be a barn and larger shelters available if the weather is awful, so as to ensure that work (and play) can go ahead uninterrupted by bad weather.

The idea is that this is a LOW COST alternative for those who can’t attend the Wortley Hall event. The aim is that this camp is complementary to Wortley Hall and part of the same process of making Co-Tech as effective as possible.

We cannot put a firm cost on the event at the moment because we need a better handle on final number of attendees. But we do know that cost of the site is GRATIS, the cost of the chemi kazi will be £80 and the rest is food (and booze). We envisage (have set ourselves the target) that the whole event will cost no more than £75 per person (before booze).

I hope that the above gives you a feel for what’s going to happen and that it whets your appetite. We will be in touch with more details and to ask for input to the event’s agenda , content and aims.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please reply to this post or contact me Andy Croft andrew@gildedsplinters.coop 07793 650013.

I hope to hear from you all very soon.